BlueCrest University College


News & Events

IEEE and ITAG Student Branch Inaugurated at BlueCrest College Ghana


1st April 2016

BlueCrest College, Accra, Ghana

1st April 2016, saw new light shine on BlueCrest College with the inauguration of Student Branches of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Information Technology Association of Ghana (ITAG). BlueCrest College became the first Tertiary educational Institution in Ghana to establish the first Campus Chapter of ITAG.  The program started with an opening prayer. The ITAG and IEEE Executive Committee Members were present in their numbers to support the program.  Prof. Nii Quaynor (Chairman - ITAG),  Dr. Mohammed-Abdulahi Sani, Mr. Alex Ofori Yeboah, Mr. Lartey, Mr.Wisdom Donkor of ITAG and  Dr. George Eduful (Chairman – IEEE Ghana Section),  Er.Isaac Kweku Boakye, Mr.Maxwell Addison from IEEE Ghana section graced the occasion. Mr. Vivek Verma ( Rector) ,  Mr. Sujith Jayaprakash (Registrar), Mrs. Eva Esther Shalin (Associate Dean – Student Affairs & Collaboration) were present along with lecturers and staff of BlueCrest .

Mr. Vivek extended his appreciation to the chairman and executives of ITAG and IEEE for making time out of their busy schedule to be available and present at the event. He also stated how he expected this to be a great mark and beginning of many exploits in the history of the university as well as the building up better Professionals in the field of ICT.  Prof. Nii Quaynor, the Chairman of ITAG also known as the Father of Internet in Africa, made his way to the podium to a standing ovation.  He encouraged the students to give in their best in everything they do and to make sure that integrity is their core value.

Dr. George Eduful the Chairman of IEEE Ghana Section sought to improve the Power crisis situation in the country and bring positive changes in the Ghanaian society as a whole through problem solving with the availability of mass resources and material that the IEEE global network as a whole has to offer.  He also urged the executives to make a difference and make an impact.

The induction of the ITAG / IEEE executives was the next on the agenda.  Mrs.Eva Esther Shalin was made the IEEE Student Branch Counselor  in recognition of her contribution to IEEE as Treasurer before. The Student Branch Chairs of ITAG and IEEE gave their acceptance speech on behalf of their team. Mrs. Eva Shalin congratulated the Executives, followed by the Vote of Thanks by  Mr. Sujith Jayaprakash.

Prince Mawutor Kwame led the audience to sing the National anthem and the program ended successfully with photo shoot and networking lunch. The media was present to cover the event. The program was organized by Student Affairs and Collaboration.

ITAG Campus Branch Executives
President                     :  Samuel Kwabena Sarpong
Vice President              :  Emmanuel Aggrey Korsah
Financial Controller       :  Menvoula Hounnai Fabrede Aude
General Secretary         :  Rexford Ayeh
Vice General Secretary   :  Faith Elendo

IEEE Student Branch Executives.

Branch Chairman          :  Stephen Darius Bendah
Vice Chair                    :  Eyram Amedzor
Branch Secretary           :  Romeo Fredson
Treasurer                    :  Joshua Oteng
Head of Committee      :  Christopher K. Aiyee.

Sign-up to receive our newsletter

BlueCrest University College